Quick Links

Home Page

Waddesdon Village

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the stage of education for children from birth to the end of the Reception year.


It is based on the recognition that children learn best through play, active learning and by thinking critically. A high importance is placed on both the indoor and outdoor learning environments.  

Within the EYFS a young child needs:

•To be supported and encouraged when facing new experiences.

•Help to develop positive relationships and attitudes.

•To have their security and well being considered.

•To be responded to as individuals.

•To have time and space for active exploration in and out of doors.

•To be provided with meaningful contexts for learning.


There are seven areas of learning within the EYFS and these are split into three prime and four specific areas:


Prime areas: 

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication & Language

Physical Development


Specific areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts & Design


Monitoring Children's Development

Each of the 7 areas of learning have their own set of Early Learning Goals which determine what children are expected to achieve by the end of the Reception year. To work towards these goals we monitor and assess children through the Development Matters milestones.  

There are 17 early learning goals in total and these are not hierarchical; each point is assessed separately. Children work towards these goals throughout the year and are assessed in the Summer Term against each ELG.



Communication and Language Resources 

Click on the documents below to find out how you can support your child's Communication and Language development

For more information please contact the subject co-ordinator, Miss King, alternatively please look at your child's class page.